Davianna Pomaikaʻi McGregor
Hawaiian ancestry:
My father is Daniel Pāmawaho McGregor, Jr. His father was Daniel Pāmawaho McGregor, Sr. of Hauʻula, Oʻahu, descended from Kalimahaʻalulu. His mother was Louise Aoe McGregor, descended from Limahana.
Educational background:
I graduated from Sacred Hearts Academy in 1968. I have a B.A. in History; BEd in Secondary Education; M.A. in Pacific Islands Studies; PhD in Hawaiian History from the University of Hawaiʻi, Mānoa.
Employment history:
I am a professor of Ethnic Studies at the University of Hawaiʻi, Mānoa where I have taught for 40 years.
Criminal record:
The Wao Kele o Puna volcano rainforest was targeted for geothermal development. While taking part in a religious ceremony to protect Pele from desecration, I was arrested for trespass, misdemeanor.
Personal statement:
My generation stopped the bombing of Kahoʻolawe; reconnected with our akua; & gained constitutional protection for our language, access rights, & claim to our national lands (ceded public lands trust). We opened channels of federal support for education, elder care, housing & jobs. This Aha-Convention is the last push for us, to finish what our generation started when we put out the call for Aloha ʻĀina. Now is the time to re-build a government of, by and for Kanaka ʻŌiwi. For over 17 centuries prior to European contact, Kanaka ʻŌiwi exercised sovereignty through district chiefs who were part of Aha Aliʻi or Councils of Chiefs with Aliʻi Nui or High Chiefs for our island chiefdoms. Our Aha-Convention needs to build upon this foundation established by our ancestral aliʻi, konohiki, & makaʻainana. Our governance needs to be rooted in the philosophy of Aloha ʻĀina - stewardship of our natural and cultural resources for the well-being of our people & perpetuation of our culture and language. The Aha needs to seek the counsel of our ʻŌiwi loea - master educators; physicians; health professionals; fishers, farmers, scientists, lawyers and businesses. We need to re-build together. Aloha
The delegate candidate represent these 10 people are eligible voters who have nominated them
  • Noa Emmett Aluli
  • Rosanna Anolani Alegado
  • Pilialoha Lee Loy
  • Lurline Wailana McGregor
  • Stephanie Stacy Helm Crivello
  • Danita Imaikalani Aiu
  • Verna Mae Kawaiʻula Branco
  • joshua Kananimauloa Kaakua
  • Marylyn Aoe Lee Loy
  • Pua Aiu

Contact naiaupuni@election-america.com for assistance.